A reservation deposit is required at the time of the booking. See Boat Rentals for reservation deposit amounts for each boat. 10% discount for reservation deposits received before April 30.
We understand that plans can change, but please try to give as much notice as possible for cancellations. Customer may cancel reservation 30 days or more prior to rental date with no penalty, and deposit shall be refunded in full. Cancellations made less than 30 days prior to rental date will result in the forfeiture of 100% of the deposit.
Here in Michigan, we have beautiful summers, but we can't guarantee perfect weather every day. Our weekly rate is discounted to take into consideration the possibility of a few bad weather days. So, we don't offer foul weather refunds.
Prior to departure, customer will be required to pay a damage deposit. The deposit is to pay for broken or lost equipment, service fees, and insurance deductible if applicable. Deposit will be returned within 10 business days after the return of the boat, provided no damage has occurred. See Boat Rentals for damage deposit amounts for each boat.
Reservation deposits must be made at the time of reservation by cash or check. Payment of the balance, including the damage deposit, can be made by check 10 business days prior to the start of the rental contract, or by cash during check-on. Checks should be made out to Duneshore Boating, and mailed to P.O. Box 180, Montague, MI 49437. Duneshore Boating no longer accepts credit cards. We apologize for any inconvenience.
Customer is responsible for all operating expenses during the rental, including slip fees, fuel, oil, etc. Customer can return boat with full fuel and oil tanks, or allow Duneshore to compute the fuel consumed and deduct the fuel and oil cost from the damage deposit.
We will arrange a delivery time with you, usually between noon and 2:00 on Saturday, which corresponds to most cottage rentals' check-in times. Check-on will include a thorough review of operating procedures for the boat, as well as paperwork, and could take up to 45 minutes. ALL BOAT OPERATORS SHOULD BE PRESENT FOR CHECK-ON. Boats must be kept in a secure place approved by Duneshore Boating, and may not be used after dusk.
Pick-up times will be pre-arranged with you, usually between 10:00 and Noon on Saturday, which corresponds to the typical check-out time for rental cottages. The boat will be inventoried and inspected for damage, and will be refueled at that time, if possible. Please be sure that the boat is in the same condition, including general cleanliness, as when it was rented.
Boat operators must be 21 or older, have a valid driver's license, and have some boating experience. All boats must remain on White Lake, and may not enter the White Lake Channel, and may not be used on Lake Michigan. (The kayak may be used on the White River as well as White Lake.) Boats may not be operated after dusk. No smoking, drugs, or driving under the influence of alcohol. Lifejackets must be worn by all children 12 and under. Please adhere to the maximum passenger capacity listed on rental contract.
Call for reservations or more information: Duneshore Boating 231-893-5405